I do believe in ghosts, I do believe in ghosts, I do, I do, I do…

All about summer storms, power outages, PECO and haunted houses…

So yes, I must admit to believing (sort of) in ghosts. Call me crazy but there have been times in my life when things happen – weird things – without any explanation at all. And trust me I have looked for the explanations.

Most recently I was sitting in my kitchen on a chair when I felt what I would call a “whisping” feeling – if there is such a word. I felt something or someone sort of brush by me. It was a strange sensation. And of course I generally don’t talk about stuff like this because people like you folks are now thinking I am nuts. Well maybe so but not due to this stuff. But there was no one else in the room, no fans or AC blowing at the time. I looked around and … nothing.

But this stuff has happened — and more than once. So I can relate to all those people who have these experiences but never dare mention them.

When I lived in Havertown I lived in a house where the owner had recently died – in the house. Bob Shugg was the former owner and we came to affectionately call him “the Shuggster.” Again, call me crazy but the more we laughed about it and his name the more strange things would happen.

For example, numerous sets of lost keys, other lost items including a gold cross where the chain was found but not the cross. A bit unusual? Me thinks so.

Then there was the time when we went away for a couple of days and came back to find Ryan’s hamsters in his room but out of their tank. Now there was nothing for them to climb on to get out and the screened top was in place. But no hamsters. We found them and plopped them back inside their safe home. But the question remains: how the heck did they get out?

And of course there was the recent disappearing wallet incident. There is absolutely no reason or explanation for that. And I just don’t make it a habit of losing wallets. Anyone in my family will tell you that I am such a cheapie that my wallet NEVER gets lost. Not ever. I have never lost a wallet in my life. Keys? Maybe – and probably because of the Shuggster.

Which brings me to the other night – a night of more summer storms.

There was no thunder, no lightning but a lot of rain. I got home late of course – around 8-ish – and popped a plate of food into the microwave. Switch on and … nothing. The plate barely turned so I took it out and found myself staring at cold ravioli. Then the stove lights and clock went out, followed by the dishwasher.

Meanwhile, the kitchen lights remained on. I walked into the laundry room and flicked on the lights. They went on and then immediately went off. Then the TV. Then the kitchen appliances came BACK on only to go off a moment later. And of course the kitchen lights, well, they were still on.

I walked down the basement to the fuse box. Every breaker was on. Hmm. I went back upstairs and voila, the kitchen appliances were on again. Oops. Nevermind, they are off again.

So at this point I am thinking to myself, “OK, I know I have had crappy luck this year with ‘stuff’ going bad. Washers, dryers, cars, etc. But is it really possible that all this stuff is blowing up all at once?” Of course, how else could you explain basically a partial power outage in your house? How can lights be on in one room and off in another?

Well then there’s PECO’s website to the rescue. I went onto the site and found that indeed there was an outage at my house. Sort of. The power was certainly on, but it was also certainly off as well. There were PECO trucks in front of the house so I went out and flagged one of the guys down and asked him what was going on.

Naturally he asked where I lived and I turned and pointed back to the Amityville Horror house and he explained in PECO-speak what the issue was. There you go. No ghosts, no haunting, just something about a 120 this or that line and that they were working on it.

Now, if I could only find that darn wallet…

— Andy Hachadorian

About fromtheeditorchair

I am the editor of the Daily Local News.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I do believe in ghosts, I do believe in ghosts, I do, I do, I do…

  1. Roger says:

    Interesting, but I have never experienced anything of the so-called paranormal in my 70+ years on this planet. I do find your “story” interesting, though.

  2. Erik says:

    You can lose one leg of your 220v line into your house. This is essentially two 120 lines sharing a common. You may notice all the items that were in question likely resided on one side of your panel box. Your first whisping sounds like goosebumps to me. Just because you do not actively have a motor powering an AC fan etc, it does not rule out convection current flow, the heating an cooling of air and its related movement. You may have a draft without you causing it…. Just the heating and cooling of the attic space and walls can cause this to happen. I dont believe in ghosts, only science. Erik.

Leave a Reply

