It’s a time just feeling a bit older…

 

It’s an interesting time of life these days. I suppose that’s the best way to put it. Things are changing, lives are entering new phases. And it’s not just me. My pal and Delco Times Editor Phil Heron just had a daughter marry. I saw his photos on Facebook. Other friends whose kids were just babies not so long ago are whisking them off to middle schools and high school come fall.

Yes, time is marching on.

In my own house my youngest son just turned 16. My only daughter turns 21 on Monday. The other two are (almost) 25 and 28. Whoa, where did all the time go? Funny thing is I remember me turning 16 and 21, 25 AND 28. Seems like just yesterday – but it’s not.

Soon my youngest will be learning to drive — amazing since I can remember him flying up and down our street in a motorized little truck. It had forward and reverse and he would spend forever out there in the driveway going back and forth, back and forth.

I remember when he started playing sports. Soccer was his sport in his younger days. He was actually pretty good at it and he also playing T-ball and Little League. But he decided baseball wasn’t his game and he stuck to soccer – until a couple of years ago when he turned to ice hockey. I swear I had nothing to do with it although I have enjoyed watching him learn how to skate and then learn how to play the game.

This year – his junior year – will be his second full season at the JV level. I helped coach his team last year and it was definitely cool seeing him find the back of the net for the first time. Anyone who plays the game knows what a feeling it is to score a goal.

As for my daughter, she’s learning the skills to work in a hospital in the medical records field. She enjoys it and decided that college wasn’t her thing. No matter. I wouldn’t mind her getting a license soon though. Being the family taxi driver does get a bit old.

The older two are more on their own although they seem to drift back home as those their age tend to do these days. Heck, why not sponge off mom and dad? Some free food and lodging…

And yes, getting a bit older is starting to hit home a bit; a step slower on the ice – not that there was a ton of speed to begin with – along with the waking up in the middle of the night. Throw in some habits like watching Andy Griffith and Hogan’s Heroes reruns and boom! I officially sort of feel old.

But like everything else I don’t plan on going quietly. I will continue to overdo it skating and taking on more “stuff” in my life. I believe that when you start to slow down is when things go kaput. And I can’t let that happen. I see what happens to older people who they start to ratchet it back a bit – it gets darn near impossible to turn the gears back up.

Maybe I am just tired and getting used to the warm summer weather. It would be nice to lie down under a big old tree and take a nap. Wow, does that sound pathetic or what? No time for naps. Gotta get back out on the ice and get that personal plate full of things to do again.

— Andy Hachadorian

About fromtheeditorchair

I am the editor of the Daily Local News.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

