More snow? No way. I just won’t accept it…

These are the quotes I have lived with in my house for the past few weeks…

“I just can’t take this anymore…”

“Why is it snowing so much?”

“We haven’t had a full week of school in two months.”

“Do I have to go to work?”

“I really don’t know how much more of this I can take…”

“Would you mind cleaning the snow off of my car?”

“Do you think classes will be cancelled?”

“How much trouble will I get into if I call out?”

And that was just yesterday.  Ba dum tss…

There is absolutely no doubt that this winter has been b-r-u-t-a-l. It seems like every 72 hours we’re hearing about a winter storm watch.

And while I hate this – and I mean I REALLY hate this – it’s not worse than the winter I believe was in 1996. That was the year we had a storm of more than two feet as I recall. It was also the winter I ended up in the hospital with the flu.

I remember the storm warnings. It was mainly via the television as I wasn’t really an avid web person at the time. I didn’t have a home computer so it was radio and TV.

The snow started and just kept on coming and coming. And I got sicker and sicker. It got to the point that my wife finally called 9-1-1. I remember being on the kitchen floor when the ambulance got there. They hoisted me onto the stretcher and carted me off to the hospital. The hospital was about five miles away but it seemed like it took hours to get there.

I don’t remember much about those first few hours in the hospital. They did some tests and I was there for a couple of days. When I got home I just remember a ton of snow on the ground. And my boys were too young to shovel. So I got out there and shoveled. And shoveled. And shoveled.

I also remember driving to work on the Blue Route, icy patches and all in my little compact. It was quite a ride. After additional snow and ice I believe we weren’t even supposed to be on the roads but in the newspaper business, you do what you have to do – at least back then…

So here we are now. We’re looking at probably a foot of snow – and a little bit of ice. This will all start Wednesday night and will ruin Thursday and Friday. Time to stock up on the staples for a couple of days.

Our most recent storms while annoying to get moving around in cars wasn’t horrible for me. I never lost power which is amazing and probably guarantees I will lose power this time. The worst part was getting the darned dogs out to take care of business.

I think we have another month or so of this bad weather. My gut tells me the pattern isn’t gonna change much so we are looking at some snow probably once a week. I hope I am wrong. As if the temperatures in single digits isn’t bad enough, all this snow is just out of control. There’s nowhere to put it…

So hunker down, make sure you have some food. Get the fireplace going. Relax and stop fighting the weather. I have decided not to stress out any longer. And I am going to ignore the family and their endless questions.

So,

“I just can’t take this anymore…” Too bad…

“Why is it snowing so much?” Don’t know…

“We haven’t had a full week of school in two months.” And you’re complaining?

“Do I have to go to work?” Uh, yes

“I really don’t know how much more of this I can take…” Or you will what exactly?

“Would you mind cleaning the snow off of my car?” Oh, of course not.

“Do you think classes will be cancelled?” Do I look like I am in charge of your school?

“How much trouble will I get into if I call out?” Big time…

Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow. What the hell, can’t stop it anyway.

— Andy Hachadorian

About fromtheeditorchair

I am the editor of the Daily Local News.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

