I think Newtown has finally drawn a line in the sand when it comes to guns…

It’s been less than a week since the tragedy in Newtown. Twenty small children gunned down in their school by a guy who had serious issues.

I have heard the news coming out and yet every day I hear it, the more it hurts. Any person who hears this stuff better feel something: anger, pity, guilt, something.

Admittedly, I have been unable to really process the whole thing. The more I hear the less I can deal with it. I just can’t imagine the mere thought of even ONE child losing his/her life at the hands of this maniac, let alone 20. It hurts more than anyone could imagine.

I think about my own four children. Of course, none of them are as young as the first-graders who were killed. But the thought that they wouldn’t be part of my life forever makes me want to just scream.  Or cry. Or both. It’s just something that is so hard to fathom. If you are a parent you understand what I am trying to say.

There was video of one of the dads who had just learned that his child was one of the victims. He just covered his face with his hands and started slamming his head on a parked car until he just collapsed to the ground. The grief, the shock and the devastation is honestly too much for anyone to deal with.

There has been talk about the shooter and the mental health issues he suffered with and I would never be the first person to criticize a parent. But if this kid did suffer with mental health issues, does it make any sense at all to bring a gun or guns into the family environment? His mother I’m sure was a decent person but the choice to give access to weapons to someone with issues is just beyond any sort of common sense.

And if there were mental health issues, I am curious how she was dealing with them. Now I have seen and lived through and with a family and extended family that has had members with mental health issues. I know how hard it can be – sometimes impossible – to get them proper treatment or treatment at all.

However, I also read the story circulated in social media about the mother of a young boy with serious anger and rage issues who realized that he was someone she couldn’t handle and so she decided to get him into the system. It was the only way to get him diagnosed and treated. Granted, it can be painful and I’m certain it springs horrendous feelings of guilt and shame. But it sure sounds like the right thing to do.

And then there is the issue of gun control.

I am not the hunting type. I like to fish a little bit but it’s always catch and release. And I understand the rights of Americans to own weapons. But honestly, in the last decade haven’t we seen enough gun carnage to believe that’s it’s seriously time to reconsider the entire gun issue? I am not advocating taking away guns from Americans. Responsible people own guns and they hunt, or target shoot or whatever. They are not the people we’re worried about.

We are all worried about the people who become like the shooter in Newtown, Conn. It’s the people who have no business owning a gun, let alone the weapons that allow mass casualties. What is their purpose exactly? Are they called “assault weapons” for a reason? Sure seems that way to me.

Do we really need guns that can discharge hundreds of rounds of ammo in a minute or so? What is the point? Someone please tell me.

That’s the part that has everyone upset. And from what I am reading, even pro-gun ownership groups are starting to realize that Newtown was the line in the sand. Something must be done to close loopholes in gun ownership laws. Collectors and gun shows, etc., have to play by different rules.

This was the incident that tipped the scales. We simply can’t move forward saying that our freedom and the right to have guns outweighs human life – especially 20 innocent children. If we sit around and argue about it and do nothing to change this situation means that all of the people who died in Newtown died for no reason at all.

And the politicians and lobbying groups need to hash this out. Really, the public won’t stand for this any longer. People don’t want to deal with it. They are tired of the news reports of mass shootings at movie theaters, malls and now schools. As I mentioned in a previous post, what’s next? The library, the swimming pools, the donut shop?

I refuse to live my life in fear. But the reality is that these incidents have changed my thinking and not for the better. I now insist on text messages from the kids when they are en route to some place. I want assurances that they are safe.

Is this really what our founding fathers had in mind when they drafted our laws of the land? Did they intend for parents of children to be worried sick, thinking their babies are lying in the street riddled with bullets? I hardly think so.

So let’s calm it all down, use some common sense and for once – on all sides – just think about these kids in Newtown. Can’t we accomplish something to make our world even a little bit safer? I think it’s time, actually, it’s way time.

— Andy Hachadorian

About fromtheeditorchair

I am the editor of the Daily Local News.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I think Newtown has finally drawn a line in the sand when it comes to guns…

  1. Karl Sickafus says:

    Isn’t it nice to know that the pockets of yours and my elected officials are being lined by NRA lobbyists to help keep their mouths shut?

  2. SUE STRUCKMEYER says:

    I AGREE WITH WHAT YOU SAID! I OWN GUNS FOR HUNTING AND TARGET SHOOTING. WHEN I DECIDED TO HAVE CHILDREN I MADE SURE MY GUNS WERE SECURED IN TO METAL GUN LOCKER AT MY PARENTS HOUSE SINCE I COULD NOT AFFORD ONE LIKE THAT AT THE TIME! AS MY KIDS GREW UP THEY WERE TAUGHT ABOUT GUNS AND THE DAMAGE THEY COULD DO IN THE WRONG HANDS.MY GUNS NEVER CAME TO MY HOME BECAUSE OF MENTAL ISSUES WITH MY SON. MY HEART BREAKS EVERY TIME I SEE ANYTHING ABOUT THESE CHILDREN I WISH IT NEVER HAPPENED. MAYBE NOW LIKE YOU SAID LOOP HOLES WILL BE CLOSED AND RESPONSIBLE GUN OWNERS CAN STILL HAVE THE RIGHT TO BARE ARMS!

Leave a Reply

