Oh that dancin’ 90-year-old grandma

Check out her YouTube video: http://bit.ly/y0eGl6

So I am in the middle-50s timetable of aging — and I don’t feel like slowing down at all. And why should I?

All I hear from people is, “Oh, I’m too old to FILL IN THE BLANK.” Nonsense! I saw an article on CNN.com about a 90-year-old grandmom dancing to some tunes and I had to check it out. Her grandson took a video of her dancing to LMFAO’s “Party Rock Anthem”. Of course videos like these go viral but it was worth a look.

I give her major kudos. There’s even a Facebook page for her now and she already has a couple thousand people liking her page.

I remember my parents and geez, it seemed like they were always “old.” My dad and mom both smoked, never exercised and were as out of shape as one could be. One time my dad joined the Y, tried to lose weight and it nearly killed him. And my mom never did anything to break a sweat except get out the cloth and the Pledge or run the vacuum. Please don’t kill me for saying that because it might be “work,” but it sure as heck isn’t exercise. And I don’t care what the doctors say.

I think my generation realizes that our parents’ generation for whatever reasons just didn’t do anything to stay in shape. Maybe it was because we were such annoying kids they just didn’t have the energy left or maybe they just didn’t care enough. But this lady is awesome. What an inspiration!

It’s all attitude folks. If you live old and act old and live old, you’re old. I believe in living and acting young. Look at the now-famous dancing grandma. If she can do it, I can and so can you too.

— Andy Hachadorian

 

About fromtheeditorchair

I am the editor of the Daily Local News.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Oh that dancin’ 90-year-old grandma

  1. Peppy says:

    It is a source of amazement that folks think that when people get “old” they sit in a chair and simply wait to die. As we “boomers” continue to climb the ladder of age, stories such as this won’t be a sensation: They will be commonplace.

    I so agree with this lovely lady’s comment, “It’s the beat!” Indeed.

  2. Kathy says:

    Thanks for the kind words about my mom. She will be 91 in a couple of months, and though she is legally blind, very hard of hearing and has a steel rod in her hip, inside she is still sweet 16. Aren’t we all.

Leave a Reply

